Whole Tale users can create versions of their Tales via the Tale History panel. Select the Tale History icon () to open or close the panel:
To create a new version, select Save Tale Version:
Select the … icon next to a version to delete, rename or restore the selected version:
Created versions are accessible from inside your running interactive environment in the ../versions directory:
Deleted versions are removed permanently and cannot be recovered.
When versions are renamed, they are also renamed on the filesystem.
By selecting Restore you will copy the contents of the selected version to your active workspace. This includes tale metadata and registered datasets.
Exporting and Publishing Versions¶
Each time you export or publish a Tale, if no version exists one is created for you. If versions exist, the most recent is used. The exported or published Tale contains a single version (i.e., not all versions)
Whole Tale uses a versioning model based and hard and soft links on the local filesystem. This simple model allows us to expose all versions as a folder in your running interactive environment for reference and comparison.